To                                                                                                                                                                     La La Land

la-la-land-poster.jpg

La La Land what have you done to me. I was just another one of those people who walked into an auditorium. I had no idea what you had instore for me. All I wanted to do was to not miss watching you on the big screen. I wasted my time over movies which weren’t as good as you were. I finally got my chance of looking at you when all hope seemed lost. All my friends had seen you and they had raved about you as well. I was disappointed with myself. They had taken my role. I spent my days waiting for my opportunity to spend those 2 hours with you. That was when the tide swung my way and I was in that auditorium. The moment your opening credits started rolling and you told me that you were filmed in Cinemascope, I knew I would not care about anything or anyone else around me. I would not notice a talkative stranger or a crying baby or a texting teenager. All I wanted to do was to spend those 2 hours and 10 minutes, watching you.

You had all the pedigree you needed to be a truly great film. You had Damien Chazelle breathing life into you. You had Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone on-screen adding some of the most expressive faces to the story you had to tell me. I would have been impressed by you enough, if those two actors were just acting but you wouldn’t do that to yourself. If you did I wouldn’t have fallen in love with you. You changed them. You made them performers. You made them sing and dance. You made them charming and relate-able. You made me love them and their dreams. You made them two of the most enduring characters ever put to film. You gave me my personal surrogate on-screen. The two of them were falling in love with each other while I was falling in love with you.

You made me forget myself and the world around me with your music. I am writing this letter to you while I am listening to your soundtrack. I cannot stop myself. I want to be surrounded by your warmth and beauty forever. I want to capture the feeling you left me with and treasure it forever. But I will not do that to you. I know that will be a disservice to what you told me by the time you ended the story you had to tell. I will respect who you are and take what you taught me by your word. I will watch you over and over again throughout my life and recognize the effect you had on me with every new viewing.

I know my letter is crude and not as gorgeous as you are. I did not want to polish myself for you and put everything I had to say in a straight line. All I wanted to do was to tell you how much I loved you and I was going to do it my way. My messy, unfocused and heartfelt way. You changed the way I looked at the outside world after I left yours. Every light seemed that much brighter, every tap of a shoe heard felt like a dance move, every sound I heard felt like music and every expression I had on my face felt like a smile. In all honesty, I want to be a part of your world. I want to dress myself up in a suit, play that jazz music you hold so dear and spend all my time watching you grow more beautiful by the second and loving you to equal measure.

I know I can’t be with you all the time even though your world feels like it is an except from the dreams I have had since I was a child. But I know all I need to do to be with you in my mind, soul and heart is to walk down a street and whistle your music. I know I will be transported to the world you left in my heart with those few notes. It had been 8 long years since I loved a film so much that it brought me to tears. You reminded me why I love movies so much. You made me stand up and cheer with tears in my eyes when you finished telling me your story. You will bring me to tears of joy every single time I walk under a street lamp and reminisce about the moments I spent with you. Those moments of unmitigated grandeur you made me a part of.

I owe you a debt of gratitude. You will stay with me for as long as I live. What makes me truly happy is that even when I perish, you will outlast me. You will spend your days making hopeless dreamers like me fall in love with you. I wish many others like me spend a few hours of their lives and watch you in all your beauty.

I know you are a love letter to movies of a bygone time. I know you are an old-fashioned film with old -fashioned themes. I am, at this moment, an old-fashioned boy who has only one thing to say to you. I love you.

This is my love letter to you.

From                                                                                                                                                                 A Movie Buff

la_la_land_poster_by_pawjanka-daifnij.jpg

Leave a Reply

