Hot Fuzz will be celebrating its 10th anniversary this year and I found it fitting to share my love for this oft-forgotten (amongst the general public at least) gem. Hot Fuzz is co-written and directed by one of the best filmmakers working today, Edgar Wright.

Yes, that Edgar Wright who was taken off Ant-Man because his vision was too unique for the MCU.

2007-hot_fuzz-4.jpg

The film stars the duo of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost with a whole host of amazing actors including Jim Broadbent, Timothy Dalton, Paddy Considine, Bill Nighy and Martin Freeman. Even though the film is uniquely British, it is not inaccessible. It plays into the general public’s love of cop films and subverts their expectations in the most gloriously unexpected way. Hot Fuzz is by far my favorite comedy of the last decade. There is so much to admire throughout the runtime of this film. I will not go into details and spoil what might be a uniquely absorbing experience for a new viewer but I would like to go off as to why it is such a uniquely absorbing one.

This is one of the most carefully crafted satires of all time. It is designed with such precision where a supposedly throw away line from scene one pays off at the fag end of the film. The film does not even go to great lengths to show off its intelligence because there is so much happening at the present scene that callbacks are not necessary. The intricate intelligence is but a treat for the people who loved the film and find it rewatchable. I can hold my hand up and say that even as I watched the film recently (which might be my 20th time) I could notice at least three new pockets of jokes I had not noticed in my prior viewings. Those little rewards left behind for film lovers are the reason this film stands head and shoulders above most modern day comedies.

Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are just a delight. I just cannot wrap my head around how these two men constantly feel so fresh even after years of working together. I believe them as their characters to a point where I feel the actors playing said characters have not actually met each other in real life. It is a hard trick to pull but the film does it with aplomb. The supporting cast of characters has specific character moments written specifically for each of them. Everyone from the think accented old British men to bloody Paddy Considine has memorable character ticks. In the spirit of the film that comes with those characters, it draws no attention to its intelligence. Either one spots it and appreciates it or smiles and keeps watching. Big cheers to Jim Broadbent and Timothy Dalton as they are used to the best their abilities.

The filmmaking on display just brings a smile to my lips every time I get around to watching this movie. The quick edits, the smart visual comedy, the way the most mundane activities are cut look like action scenes and the most action packed ones are cut to seem unnecessary is just a hilarious bit of irony. I read that real cops love this film because it never forgets to depict paperwork, which forms a huge part of the life of a police officer. When day to day officers acknowledge something so subtle, you know this film is doing many things right. The little nod to the Cornetto is present. The obligatory fence scene is in there. The all-out spoiler with which the film starts calls out its attendance. Gruesome and well-executed death scenes are a part of the film, for sick bastards like myself. The zing aimed at Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo + Juliet had me almost die with laughter the first time I saw the film.

I can go on forever with all the small nods and nudges.

Seriously, there is a scene in the film where the characters watch Point Break and Bad Boys II. The specific scenes they watch actually end up being a part of the film when the time comes around. I do not have words for how brilliantly that is executed. The men behind the camera had a deep love for buddy cop films and they pay their respects to them in the best way possible. They create an intriguing mystery of their own while they make fun of and subvert the cliches cop movies usually end up having.

Many people like Shaun of The Dead more than Hot Fuzz and a few people like The World’s End more but I for one consider Hot Fuzz to be the pinnacle of what Edgar Wright has been able to achieve as a director. I highly urge all readers to watch Every Frame A Painting’s – How To Do Visual Comedy video as it goes into great detail as to how Edgar Wright achieves these exquisite comedies (video linked below). I’m an unabashed fan of the unbridled brilliance brought to the silver screen. I always compare the comedies I watch to this one. None of the comedies I have watched since have been able to compare to the excellence of execution that is simply known as Hot Fuzz.

Please LIKE, SHARE, FOLLOW and COMMENT to let me know what you like about Edgar Wright films.

2 thoughts on “Spreading The Love for Hot Fuzz (2007)

Leave a Reply

